blog madeline johnsonEach year, John Burroughs School juniors are encouraged to choose five Americans they would like to meet and write about each. A selection committee conducts individual interviews with finalists and chooses a winner based on “enthusiasm, character and a willingness to take chances in order to achieve their goals.” The prize is an actual meeting with one of the winner’s five choices. Madeleine Johnson ’12 is the 2015 winner. She will graduate from John Burroughs in 2016.

Madeleine choices:

  • Jessica Williams, actress, comedian and correspondent on The Daily Show
  • Hayley Atwell, actress, currently starring in Agent Carter
  • Nina Totenberg, legal affairs correspondent for National Public Radio
  • Madeline Miller, novelist, The Song of Achilles
  • Hillary Clinton, former U.S. Secretary of State, U.S. Senator and First Lady of the United States

Previous Newman Prize winners have visited:

  • Temple Grandin, professor at Colorado State University, animal scientist, autism expert
  • Amar Bose, founder and CEO of Bose
  • Jesse Ventura, Governor, Minnesota

City Academy alumni thrive in secondary school and higher education. Read more about our alumni programs and placement.


Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.